Lovely Shadows and Forgot-Me-Nots

Shells and Forget-me-nots by Tommia Wright

Shells and Forget-me-nots by Tommia Wright

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Do you remember when we got married,” Deborah asked as she burrowed under the quilt.

“I believe they call that an anniversary, dear,” Jacob said without looking away from the book he held at arm’s length, refusing to put on his glasses.

She grabbed the book of sonnets with one hand, cupped his chin to face her with the other. “You believe you’re going to make it to your next birthday, don’t you, old man? I’m trying to be serious here.”

“Funny, I thought you always were.” He kissed her forehead before she could protest. “Yes, dear, I remember. My brother, the witness, Mrs. Helen our guardian. And our parents refusing to talk to us for more than a month.”

Deborah glanced at the dog-earred page, a pet peeve of hers, yet kept her silence. “I don’t think I ever felt so scared in my life, aside from the day I thought I killed you, I mean.”

“Knocked me off my feet before then,” he whispered as the winter winds howled on the other side of the walls. “What brought you back to-?”

“I’m afraid of forgetting. Sure, I give you grief for making me look for your glasses or wondering where I wrote check number 214, but… Joel, there are days I can’t remember what happened the day before.”

He hugged her tighter. “Considering we’re keeping track of three kids, two parents and a stubborn aunt and uncle, it’s any wonder we remember who the other one is anymore. Don’t worry, though, love. If you go senile, I’ll walk along that path with you. Then we can both watch our memories vanish in the sands as the waves wash over time and again.”

Deborah smiled, relieved and tired. She didn’t have the energy she used to and couldn’t help but wonder how she expected  them to keep up with the grandkids, too. “Want your book back?”

Jacob shook his head, reciting the sonnet instead, his soft voice lulling her into a sweet sleep on the sofa, in his arms.

3 thoughts on “Lovely Shadows and Forgot-Me-Nots

  1. […] ficlet-fragment for today can be found here. […]

  2. Penelope says:

    Oh my goodness! TamBorgia – I just received your NaNo message today and I squealed so loud my husband thought I was dying 😀

    I would love to catch up one of these days – my pen name is the one which will show up here, but I’m sure our mutual friend, Elizabeth, will help figure out who I am!

    pheenie(dot)marie(at)gmail – if you should happen to read this!

    • tommiaw says:

      Oh my goodness!! The only thing keeping me in a ‘cool/calm/collective mode’ right now is the fact that I am in the library, lol. You made my day indeed!
      Prepare for a longer email to follow (smile).
      t.

Leave a Reply

