Why Feeding the Imagination is Key

I loved Kaye’s approach to this and decided (maybe foolishly?) to share images of the characters in my NaNoWriMo collection. Granted, I hesitated doing this because I might rob the reader of their own renderings if I chose the words correctly in describing them. And yet, I foolishly find it fun to share the ‘foundations’ of the folks populating my various fantasy/fictional settings.

Additions have been made to the “Crossing Seasons” page to the right.

2 thoughts on “Why Feeding the Imagination is Key

  1. Kaye Dacus says:

    I always share the templates for my characters when it’s time to introduce my readers to a new book. I’ve done it so much, in fact, that it’s one of the things my readers tell me they look most forward to when it comes time for a book release. I’ve even had some tell me that they’ve printed out the images and kept them nearby while reading so they could refer to them every so often.

    I keep a Pinterest board for each of my books (at least the current series, since Pinterest wasn’t really around when I was writing all the others) on which I pin images of the character templates and also settings, costumes, props, etc. It’s SO helpful when I’m writing to be able to pop over to that board and remind myself of what someone or something looks like.

    • tommiaw says:

      I’ll admit to the habit of ‘cut and paste’ both in digital and traditional form for my stories, especially NaNo time. I’ve learned Scrivner is very helpful in this regard.
      PS – thank you for offering a ‘guilt free’ treat with your compilation. I may be tempted to try the same….

Leave a Reply

